Book Review Only in My Dreams (Ribbon Ridge: Book 1) by: Darcy Burke

Come on the journey with me as we follow these siblings in their quest to grow close again and find love.

Only In My Dreams

Ribbon Ridge: Book 1

By: Darcy Burke

only-in-my-dreams

Fed up with her self-imposed single life, successful event planner Sara Archer heads to a bar for a night of dancing … and bumps into Dylan Wescott, the high school crush she hasn’t seen in years. A little harmless flirting leads to a hot, completely uncharacteristic one-night stand; but when she wakes up alone, Sara knows her life is too complicated for a relationship and there can’t be a repeat.

Dylan, a divorced, ex-military construction contractor, limits himself to casual flings—his failed marriage proves he’s better off alone anyway—but he can’t stop dreaming about Sara. And when his firm is hired to oversee the renovation project run by the Archer siblings, Dylan and Sara are unable to resist their explosive chemistry.

But when their secret affair grows beyond “friends with benefits” and neither is willing to admit they want more, family drama and emotional scars may ruin their chance at a love they believed was only in their dreams.

thoughts

This is the first book i have read by this author. I have been asked to host a blog party for her upcoming book in another series coming out in Feb. So I figured I needed to start from the beginning so I will know the people I am reading about. That is just how I roll.

I have to tell you I loved this book. It made me laugh some and cry a lot. This series is about a set of sextuplets and their brother and a childhood friend whom they took in after his parents passed. It also involves another family whom you will see in the other series as well. (Which is why I decided to start with this series.)

I was still left with a lot of what is going on with some of the characters but I am sure when it comes to their books, I will find my answers. But, I have to say that this one was very sad and I am sure that the sadness will continue over into the other books because of what happened to make it so sad. I will not say what happened to make it so sad that is for you to read and find out. It would spoil things for you if I did.

Sara is one of the sextuplets and has a condition (you will find out what it is when you read the book). She is tired of her single life and decided to go out where she runs into her high school crush Dylan. They have one night together and vow to not talk about it again. Well, that is easier said than done since their chemistry was so off-the-charts-great. But, they do not see each other since she lives in another town, but when circumstances happen to bring her back home and get involved in a project she does run into Dylan because he is one of the contractors bidding for the job.

Dylan can not believe that he is about to bid on a job with Sarah’s family, but this is the kind of job that will put him on the map, and he needs this job. He gets the job and it takes everything in his power to keep things professionally since he is working so close to Sara. But that doesn’t last long. The attraction from both of them are too powerful to keep at bay.

So Sara decides to make it a friends with benefits type of situation because he grounds her and makes her feel better. Dylan is all for their situation and about them keeping it a secret, then later on he starts realizing that something is changing and it is scaring him. One day something happens at a restaurant and he blows their cover. (If you want to know what pick up the book, I promise it is so worth it.)

After that they decided it is best for them and the project to call it quits because her siblings tell Dylan that if things go south so will his job because family comes first. and they just offered him all of the projects. He can’t let that happen and looking back on his past it will go south and he cared too much about Sara to hurt her like that.

Sara is hurt and after she gets a letter she decides that she is in love with Dylan and she is going to fight for him. She goes to his house to wait for him to come home. He tells her that this can’t happen, that he is only protecting her. She tells him that her heart can’t hurt any worse and she tells him that she is in love with him. He tells her he is not in love with her, even though saying those words hurt his chest.

What happens to the couple? Does anything happen to get them back together?

READ THE BOOK TO FIND THE ANSWERS TO ALL OF THE QUESTIONS I HAVE GIVEN YOU IN YOUR HEAD ABOUT HIS BOOK, I CAN PROMISE YOU IT IS SO WORTH THE READ.

Thanks for reading my review, would love to hear from you.

Until Next Time: Happy Reading.

Leave a Reply

